The International Basketball Federation, more commonly known by the French acronym FIBA (Fédération Internationale de Basketball), is an association of national organisations which governs international competition in basketball. 

The association was founded in Geneva on 18 June 1932, two years after the sport was officially recognised by the International Olympic Committee (IOC). Its original name was Fédération Internationale de Basketball Amateur.

Eight nations were founding members: Argentina, Czechoslovakia, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Portugal, Romania and Switzerland. At the 1936 Summer Olympic Games in Berlin, FIBA named James Naismith (1861-1939), the founder of basketball, as its Honorary President.

FIBA has organised the FIBA Basketball World Cup since 1950 and the FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup since 1953. Both events are now held every four years, alternating with the Olympics.

In 1989 FIBA opened the door to Olympic participation by professionals such as players from the NBA in the United States. At this point, the Fédération Internationale de Basketball Amateur became the Fédération Internationale de Basketball, but retained FIBA as its abbreviation.

The Federation's headquarters moved to Munich in 1956 and returned to Geneva in 2002.

To celebrate its 81st anniversary, the House of Basketball was inaugurated on 18 June 2013 in Mies, on the outskirts of Geneva. This marked an historic moment and a significant milestone in the life of world basketball's governing body.

The Naismith Arena is a 1,000 square metre exhibition and event area dedicated to basketball lovers of all ages that aims to preserve and promote the cultural heritage of the sport. It exhibits a large collection of basketball objects, books and art and it is a place to honour and remember those who made the game (Hall of Fame).